>

Requisitions

Jo Grant -

Requisitions are a special type of Activity record that can be raised to request some work to be allocated via the Calendar Bookings system. The creator can suggest the number of hours, the resource and the charge code for the booking. However, in a requisition these are just the preferred values. The person making the bookings can override these defaults and make a decision based on the resources available at the time.

When processing a requisition the system will automatically allocate the booking to an estimate if it already exists. Otherwise it will simply create a zero hour estimate, for the selected charge code, at the point of booking the requisition into the calendar.

Creating requisitions:
From within a job, or a phase of a job, you can raise a requisition. This is done from the ‘Activities’ tab of a job or phase by clicking 'new':

NewReq.jpg

The only mandatory field is the Activity type (select ‘Requisition’).

ReqTypes.jpg

Once you have specified this is a requisition activity, you can suggest the number of hours required, the preferred resource, charge code, the phase, and the stage from the phase schedule (if applicable). It is also good practice to add a subject and some text in the details section. It’s here you might wish to specify exact work instructions – or attach relevant files.

Booking a requisition:
In the calendar booking screen 'Get requisitions' button is available at the bottom for all staff who have the access rights to make bookings:

GetReqs.jpg

This will open a list of all the open requisitions. Hovering the mouse cursor over any of the requisitions will show full details of the requisition. From this list it is also possible to open a requisition (in a new tab). Once you are ready to make a booking based on the request you can drag the requisition to the calendar as you would a typical booking. However, at this point a booking input form opens with the requisition shown on the panel on the right.

BookingReq.jpg

To the left is a panel that comprises of the booking itself. The hours requested, the charge code, phase and stage are all copied over from the requisition if they have been specified there. At this point you can change any of this – e.g. reducing the number of hours, or even changing the phase / stage that the booking will be linked to. On clicking ‘Save’ the booking is made.

A requisition will disappear from the list of open requisitions once the requisition is ‘completed’ or the related job/phase is closed. If you wish to hide requisitions that are open – but which you have already booked, click the ‘eye’ icon on the far left of the list. This will hide the requisition (on the next refresh). To bring it back simply click the ‘Display hidden requisitions’ checkbox.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk